The Hubert van der Spuy National Music Competition is organized by the Tygerberg branch of the South African Society of Music Teachers (http://www.sasmt-savmo.org.za) and was inspired by Professor Hubert van der Spuy – at that time the chairperson of the newly established Tygerberg branch of the Society. The first competition took place in 1989. In 2021 the competition celebrated its 32nd anniversary. Due to Covid -19 no competition was held in 2020.

This competition is the only one at this level in South Africa and has already put a number of young South African musicians on the road to (even international) acclaim and successful careers in music.

The mission of the Hubert van der Spuy National Music Competition is to offer talented young music learners the opportunity to learn from one another in a competition environment and to compete on a national level.

The South African Society of Music Teachers (Tygerberg) is proud to be a part of a golden partnership, which encourages and nurtures our country’s finest young talent. We also salute our teachers and parents for their tireless input, skill and encouragement, which has helped to shape our youngsters to become better musicians.


Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre, Picton Street, Parow, Western Cape

26-30 September 2022

SAMRO HvdS2015- Final

Hugo Lambrechts Auditorium